top of page
  • Writer's picturemegganjack

A traveling Beanieologist's Tale


As a Beanieologist, I once traveled the land as a nomadic artist, living in a little yellow campervan and later, a little white bus. It was a wonderful life of different vistas everyday. My then partner and I were free to assist in various Forest Defence Actions, and I got to slowly travel the land, sitting, drawing the landscape, truly being In Place, On Country.

I long to buy another vehicle, and once again, return to nomadic life. One day soon, that will happen, bit by bit. Then I will be able to attend the annual Alice Springs Beaniefest, with all my yarns, fleece and creations, to sell along the way.



Some happy customers from back in the day. At Jim's Oasis

There are many tales to be told, of travelling around this land for 12 years, I could write a book. This book would include paintings and drawings from my art-journal, recipes of scrumptious meals made and eaten with spectacular vistas surrounding, and many way-side stalls like above.

This is from Jim's Oasis, a roadside fuel rest-stop, with a bore-filled pool enclosure with fish, emus, and sometimes kangaroo and adolescent camels. In 2006, we broke down there whilst filling up with fuel. Well we noticed a big puddle of water, under the radiator! I saw it after enquiring inside about the Free Camping sign -) out in the back paddock, plus move in closer during the day for a stall.) I had to go back in and request assistance. Jim pointed us to this spot beside the enclosure, so we could still set up our stall. So, here we stayed for the next two weeks. Geradus, took out the radiator, and took it up to Alice Springs on Jim's next weekly trip, and I set up stall every morning to greet the tour bus on it's early morning journey from Alice to Uluru. I sold enough to pay for a very expensive 17 core radiator, that year, (The following year, the clutch began playing up on the journey, and when it went in for repair, after the Beaniefest, the clutch just fell apart. Luckily with sales from Jim's Place yet again, plus sales at Beaniefest and my stall in the caravan park throughout beaniefest, I managed to pay for the expensive Clutch Repairs.)


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All quiet spirit-wise

My connection to the Spirits surrounding me, have been fairly quiet of late. No vibrant, strong messages, no visions during acupuncture sessions. Just little greetings, little notes left here or

bottom of page